Tags

, ,

Splint on finger

First crappy feeling: Splint on my Pinky…

Funny how you never realise that your little pinky finger is just as important as the other fingers until it has become immobile.  This is what happened to me.  When the doctor suggested light duty for me after diagnosing the little swelling on my left pinky finger as an injury to the ligament, I declined because it would affect my bonus for this year.  After all, it’s just a pinky finger.

So after getting a plastic splint done and wearing it like an ugly ring on my bony little finger, I got home to find out what an inconvenience it is not being able to use that finger.  Never realised how much I use that little pinky finger until I tried to wash my hair.  I couldn’t massage my scalp properly or dry my hair properly.  It’s like I lost my strength by losing that pinky.  My left hand just seem so weak without it.

I guess I need to get used to it cos after the splint is taken out, the finger might become a little stiff and it might not function as well as before according to the doctor.  Maybe I shouldn’t get the splint?  But then I will have to live with the nagging pain on the finger…

Damned if I do, damned if I don’t!

2nd crappy feeling…

The tension headache has been building and building since last week, then the sore throat came on Sunday and yesterday after getting my finger checked and splintted (is that a word?), I got home to a massive headache.  Downed 2 pills and some cough syrup after doing some housework and fell asleep at 8pm.  Woke up this morning with the headache almost gone along with the voice.

Went to the government clinic and got 2 days of medical leave.  Came home and had some lunch, took the medicines and slept for 3 hours.  The combination of flu, headache and cough medicinces knocked me out real good but now I’m feeling the side effects…dizzy, nauseous and feeling like I’m floating when I walk.  Not to mention extremely hungry too!  Gobbled up 2 small buns, some cookies, a slice of cake and a cup of hot chocolate.  Still not fully satisfied yet but it’s almost dinner time.  Funny how most people lose their appetite when they are sick while I seem to become a glutton…

I need to eat again…is it dinner time yet?

